Belated introduction

I’ve posted a lot of entries today, because I’m shifting my book reviews over from my Google account to here.  I’ve only discovered WordPress recently, and I’ve fallen in love, I think.  I find it wonderfully easy to use.

I’m hopefully going to be posting more in the future.  I drafted a concept blog for a paying position that I didn’t get, so I have this wonderful idea all for myself.  I can take as much time as I need to make some really wonderful articles.  It might mean that it’s a long time between posts, but when I do get a short essay done, it will hopefully be fascinating for any interested readers out there.

Here’s the introduction to my concept, that I can finally post here:

There are two very important things I have learnt as a book addict while studying Archaeology in Australia. The first is that nearly everyone who lives here feels attached to the land. Not as deeply or personally as many traditional indigenous groups, but we are connected. The second, quite obvious to anyone who has travelled enough, read enough, or simply spent enough time squinting down at Google Earth, is that Australia isn’t a single environment or a single, unified place. Pre-colonisation, there were uncounted thousands of unique languages and cultures that flourished in incredibly different ecologies. Smaller “countries” and distinct experiences of life all tied up into the land, water and air of each micro climate.

Though we’ve become far more interconnected through homogeneity of our structures and media in the last hundred years or so, there is still this uniqueness of environment. My cousin will return to Coffs Harbour to live, despite the general trend away from seaside residences. She was born on that land, and though she’s lived inland to complete a degree, she wants to go home.

It’s what is so beautiful about Australian fiction; whether it’s deep thoughtful literature or just a high fantasy adventure, occasionally readers will stumble upon hints of their land, their home. Their tree near the carpark on the oval that they walked past every day during school. But those scenes won’t be the same for everyone. It’s a wonderful lottery because these hints of local scenery (as well as language and history) permeate all sorts of genres and characters. Australian fiction is like one large lottery of resonance.

For me, whenever I pick up a book, I find that anticipation and excitement sometimes greater than my curiosity in the story itself: will this remind me of my early childhood in Adelaide, or my adolescence in Canberra? When it hits you, that deep personal resonance, you feel it in your heart and your head and your bones. But perhaps you simply haven’t found the right book yet. That’s quite alright. I’m going to be reading, reviewing, interviewing and blogging here to do my best to make sure that more people can share my exquisite delight in Australian fiction. I might be a book lover and an Archaeologist, but I also spent many formative years of my life working in school libraries. My other life’s great passion is finding books for people so that they can find that wonderful moment themselves. I look forward to rising to the challenge, and sharing some great reads with you all.

Leave a Reply

